Everyone Sees You on the Internet…

Here’s the thing.  Even though I don’t publish this address anywhere else, nor have I told anyone about this blog except the hubster, I know there’s still a likelihood that some people I know will find it.  I think you should expect that from the get-go.  If you don’t, you need to be intelligent about hiding your identity.

Let me back-track a little…

Yesterday I found my bosses blog.  It was partially by accident, but not really.  I was bored at work waiting for hubby, and started looking up coworkers on facebook.  I knew my boss was on fb because he mentioned some games that are on fb that you would only know if you had an account at some point.

I found him and his information was hidden, as expected.  I looked to see if he had any coworkers as friends (he didn’t).  Then I noticed one piece of information that wasn’t hidden.  It was labeled “website”, and it was a link to his blog.  Well.  I’m sure some of you have higher morales than I do and would have totally ignored that link.  I looked.  I read.  I was surprised.  And more than a little saddened.  While most of the posts are political or just chitter chatter, there were a few that had deep moments.  I felt bad and sort of amazed reading it.  It was like I was reading about someone else.  I was learning things about him I had no idea about, because ‘in real life’ he keeps himself pretty closed off.  He only had a few things about work, and yep, read those.  Nothing earth-shattering.  The general vibe of the whole blog is that he has low self esteem and is lonely.  That’s what made me sad.  He’s generally a nice person, and it’s hard to find out people that seem fine in person aren’t really all that fine inside.

And yes, I will continue to read the blog.  I’m certain if he has some sort of site tracker on it he’ll see that someone from inside the company is reading, and he’ll probably have a hot pocket (i.e. shit his pants).  He had to have known that everyone sees you on the internet, though.  It’s inevitable.  And my main purpose for reading is to try to help as best I can, because I know he won’t ask in person.

Leave a Reply

