Happy Holidailies

I decided to start a new blog when I joined Holidailies.  I’ve been wanting to get back into writing for a while, so this was a great excuse to do it.

The holidays are fast approaching, so today I took care of a good amount of shopping (online, of course).  What would I do without Amazon.com?  Probably have an ulcer, is my guess.  I love Amazon and wish lists.  Perfect for helping this season be a little less stressful.

Speaking of shopping, at work we did a program called Winter Wishes.  Basically, a child writes and asks for a gift and ‘Santa’ gets their request and fulfills it.  By the time I got to the conference room where they had all of the paperwork, there were only three wishes left.  One was for a gift certificate, which seemed suspect to me — what kid wants that?  It wasn’t even to a particular store.  Another was for a sweater for a teenager.  The third was for a bike for an 8 year old.  I had to pick up a wish for my boss, so he got the teenager and I got the kid who wanted a bike.  My child’s letter spoke of how he had changed his behavior, and that made me decide to do pick it.  Although now I realize he didn’t specifically say he changed it for the good, so I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt here.

I got back to my cube and started looking at Amazon.  I found a bike and ordered it, thinking it would take a while to get it.  I got it the next day!  How is that even possible?  I didn’t pay extra for shipping.  Santa must be working at Amazon, too.

The bike has been in my cube for two weeks and took up nearly 25% of the available space.  I had no idea how to wrap it.  I thought they made huge gift bags for that sort of thing, but I just couldn’t find any.  I ended up getting a few rolls of red paper at Target, and a big white bow.  Boy did this gift look like crap.  I’ll post the evidence tomorrow, since I took a pic.  I told myself this kid is getting two gifts this Christmas; the gift of a bike and the lesson of not judging a gift by its wrapping.

I only wish I could see his face when he opens that ugly sucker up.   Merry Christmas, Darius.

Leave a Reply

